Octave One ‘New Life’ (Ft. Unsubscribe & Different World Remixes)

Octave One ‘New Life’ (Ft. Unsubscribe & Different World Remixes)

Octave One ‘New Life’ (Ft. Unsubscribe & Different World Remixes)‘New Life’ is the powerful new soulful-techno outing from some of the most prominent brothers in the world of electronic dance music, Octave One. Armed with a pulsating bass line, driving beats and those lush, dramatic signature O1 strings, ‘New Life’ carries a message of positivity beautifully sung by Atlanta vocalist, Afrika. Also featured on the package are remixes from Unscubscribe (aka Techno legend Dave Clarke & Mr Jones), who flip over to the dark side, weaving an intense techno tapestry of menacing synths and slamming beats. Different World (aka Claude Young & Takasi Nakajima) finish the release on a euphoric note, drizzling the track with sublime piano and a delicate garnish of pretty strings.  

The video shot in Madrid, Spain, was directed by STEEL5000 and Martín García Blaya of W0RKT34M, whose choice theme for the video was synchronised swimming because of it’s sheer beauty and strength. It also includes some fantastic divers who were discovered whilst training at the same venue – Centro de Natación Mundial 86. The talented stars on the video are young Madrileños from  Madrid’s Swimming Federation (Federación Madrileña de Natación).  These are dedicated athletes that form part of the Centro de Tecnifición, a national Spanish program to create future athletes. 

Arriving onto the electronic scene with ‘I Believe, on the monumental (10 Records) compilation ‘Techno 2: The Next Generation’ (alongside Carl Craig, Marc Kinchen, and Jay Denham) in 1990, Octave One is the brainchild of the phenomenal native sons of Detroit, MI (USA), the Burden Brothers. The core unit of the band, made up of Lenny and Lawrence Burden (with revolving members of Lynell, Lorne, and Lance Burden), have had the privilege of bringing their high energy live shows all over the world! The brothers have released groundbreaking dance anthems on their own Detroit based record label, 430 West Records. Including DJ Rolando’s ‘Jaguar’, Random Noise Generation’s ‘Falling in Dub’, Aux 88’s ‘My A.U.X. Mind’ (on the 430 West sister label Direct Beat), as well as their own Octave One recordings: ‘Empower’, ‘Nicolette’, ‘The X-files’, ‘Meridian’, ‘Love and Hate’, ‘The Greater Good’, and ‘Siege’. They have remixed tracks for Massive Attack, Akabu, Steve Bug, John Thomas, Aril Brikha, Vince Watson, The Trampps, Rhythm is Rhythm, and Inner City. 2000 saw Octave One release the anthemic ‘Blackwater’. The massive hit appeared on over 30 compilation albums worldwide (with sales over one million!) Its now a classic on the decks of some of the world’s best known DJs, Little Louie Vega, Danny Teneglia, Jeff Mills, Richie Hawtin, Kevin Saunderson, Derrick May, Laurent Garnier, among others.  In late 2006 they released their first full length DVD/CD project – Octave One ft Random Noise Generation “Off The Grid”, released on Tresor Records/Germany. 2009 saw the release of the band’s first studio album in 3 years, ‘Summers on Jupiter’, on P-vine/Japan. Other Octave One albums include: ‘The Living Key (To Images From Above)’ (1997), ‘The Collective’ (1998), and ‘The Theory Of Everything’ (2004). 2011 welcomed the release Octave One’s retrospective compilation ‘Revisited: Here, There, and Beyond’. Marking 20 years of living the Techno life. The album features O1 classics reworked by some of the band’s favourite producers: Luke Slater, Sandwell District, Ken Ishii, Alexander Kowalski, Vince Watson, Alter Ego, Los Hermanos, and Cari Lekenbusch.

Afrika (aka Lana Fallon) is a versatile vocalist hailing from Atlanta. She previously worked with the likes of Tupac, OutKast & Curtis Mayfield as an engineer back in the day, but now shines as a singer in her own right!

Different World are live / DJ duo comprising of Claude Young and Takasi Nakajima, who met when Claude relocated to Japan in early 2005. Together they have performed all over the world, including the Movement Electronic Music Festival in DetroitTheir first production together “Rapture” was released on UK artist Kirk Degiorgio’s ART label in 2011. 

Unsubscribe are a duo made up of British Techno legend Dave Clarke and Dutch DJ/Producer Mr Jones, a true pioneer of techno throughout the Netherlands and Europe. Together as Unsubscribe, the duo have worked on several remixes projects for Bryan Black, Ben Sims, Psycatron, John Foxx and many others.

VIDEO http://vimeo.com/47859264

PREVIEW CLIP: http://soundcloud.com/greensladeradio/octave-one-new-life-snippet


1 New Life (Original)

2 New Life (Instrumental)

3 New Life (Radio Edit)

4 New Life (Unsubscribe Remix)

5 New Life (Unsubscribe Instrumental) 

6 New Life (Different World Remix) 

7 New Life (Different World Instrumental) 

8 New Life (Video Edit)


Sep 22 The Bakery Artrage Complex Northbridge Wa, Australia Add + Add Edit 

Sep 28 Decibel Festival w/ Carl Craig, Seattle, WA USA   

Sep 29 The Works w/ Carl Craig San Francisco, CA USA   

Oct 06 Disorder @ Tattingers Rabat, Malta    

Oct 19 Amsterdam Dance Event w/ Green Velvet, Dave Clarke Amsterdam, Netherlands 

Oct 31 Venue TBC Turin To, Italy   

Nov 02 Hidden London, United Kingdom

‘New Life’ will be released worldwide on October 8th 2012 on 430 West Records.



MIKA is a free guide into the vast world of music, cultural and entertainment events and places.