Eurosonic Noorderslag is gearing up!

Eurosonic Noorderslag features a festival programme spanning four days, with 324 bands, from 29 countries playing on 36 stages. Eurosonic festival (14 – 17 January) is the stepping stone for European talent, providing a platform for acts to showcase their music to an international audience of music lovers and music industry professionals. Noorderslag festival on Saturday January 17th presents the best and most relevant Dutch acts. Just like previous editions the event has a publicly accessible open air stage, Eursonic Air. This year’s focus country is Iceland. The focus country is fully represented with a reception, panel discussions, a pop up store and 19 Icelandic acts on the festival bill. Check out the Eurosonic Noorderslag line up, or have a look at the acts that were recommended by international media.

Full line up here

On Wednesday 14ht January, Eurosonic Noorderslag kicks off with an award night with the Festival Awards Europe and the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA). The EBBA are given out to artists that were successfull breaking borders with their first release. The spectacular show will be broadcast by public TV stations throughout Europe and is hosted by Jools Holland. This years EBBA winners are Klangkarussell (Austria), Melanie De Biasio (Belgium), MØ (Denmark), Indila (France), Milky Chance (Germany), Hozier (Ireland), The Common Linnets (Netherlands), Todd Terje (Norway), Tove Lo (Sweden) and John Newman (United Kingdom). During the show, the winner of the prestigious Public Choice Award will be announced, some of the 2015 winners will perform, along with The Ting Tings, EBBA winners of 2009. []

The European Festival Awards is the only event solely dedicated to recognising the achievements of the event organisers and performing artists that generate billions of euros for local economies and brighten up the summer for tens of millions of festival- goers each year. Decided by a combination of public vote and industry juries, the awards are presented at a sold-out ceremony that takes place on the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag. This year saw a record breaking edition with over 1.2 million votes, and more than 350 festivals taking part from 35 different European countries. The European Festival Awards were established in 2009 in co-operation with Festival Awards Ltd, Yourope (the European Festival Association) and Eurosonic Noorderslag. The European Festival Awards show takes place in De Oosterpoort in Groningen, NL.

The Eurosonic Noorderslag side programme is expanding every year. In 2015 delegates, festival visitors and the public can visit pop up stores, instore performances, a museum exhibit, Rock and Roll Kitchen and a lot of other fun and interesting things to do, even if you don’t have a festival ticket or conference registration.

Watch the video trailer here…

Eurosonic Noorderslag is the key exchange and networking platform for European music, with a proven track record for helping new acts break into the international music scene. Selling out each year Eurosonic Noorderslag attracts over 3,200 delegates, including 400 international festivals. It presents showcases by more than 300 artists and a conference programme featuring 150 panels, keynote speakers, interviews, workshops, dinners, pitches, parties and meetings on the latest developments in the international music, media and interactive industry.

Eurosonic Noorderslag has been responsible for kick-starting the careers of European acts like Ásgeir, Benjamin Clementine, Birth of Joy, Coely, Emilie Nicolas, Ewert and the Two Dragons, George Ezra, Hozier, Jaakko Eino Kalevi, Jungle, Kadebostany, Larry Gus, Mighty Oaks, Milky Chance and MØ. The start of ticket sales for the festival programme will be announced later this autumn.



MIKA is a free guide into the vast world of music, cultural and entertainment events and places.